New Orleans History -- Lake Pontchartrain
Tuesday, June 25, 2024
Search this site.View the site map.

1812 Louisians Becomes a State

On Jan. 22, 1812, the constitution of the State of Louisiana was finally adopted. Each delegate signed for the county from which he was elected. The constitution did not specify or subdivide the state into counties or parishes. Theory, let the sleeping dog lie. In the second session of the Legislature, the state was divided into seven judicial districts by parishes. From that time on, the word “parish” superseded “county.”

Source: Buddy Stall at