New Orleans History -- Lake Pontchartrain
Monday, July 15, 2024
Search this site.View the site map.

April 4, 1812 The Territory of Orleans admitted to the Union

On this day in 1812, the Territory of Orleans, which had been organized in 1804, was admitted to the Union as the State of Louisiana, a name for the French territory in North America named for King Louis XIV. It was not contiguous to any other state, since Mississippi was not admitted until 1817, Arkansas until 1836, and Texas in 1845.